Scholarships for Undergraduates

The department offers two undergraduate scholarships.

The Lambda Chi Alpha Loy H. Witherspoon Scholarship is named for the founding chair of the department, first hired in 1964 and now Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and Religious Studies. This scholarship provides $1,000 each academic year, sometimes split between recipients.

The Underwood Scholarship is named for Joan Underwood, the widow of Richard A. Underwood. Richard A. Underwood was hired in 1975 to teach religion and modern culture and to serve as department chair. He retired in 1992. His widow, Joan Underwood, funds the scholarship. This scholarship provides $500 for one semester each year. 

Recipients for both awards are chosen by the faculty annually. Recipients have demonstrated by their academic performance a serious commitment to the field of religious studies. All applications must go through the portal by April 15th of each year.